My mother at sixty-six


About the poet

Kamala Das(1934)was born in Malabar, Kerala. She is recognized one of India’s foremost poets. Her works are known for their originality, versatility and the indigenous flavor of the soil. Kamala Das has published many novels and short stories in English and Malayalam under the name ‘Madhavikutty’. Some of her works in English include the novel Alphabet of Lust (1977), a collection of short stories Padmavati the Harlot and other stories (1992), in addition to five books of poetry. She is a sensitive writer who captures the complex subtleties of human relationships in lyrical idiom. My mother at sixty-six is an example.

My mother at sixty-six

Driving from my parent’s home to Cochin last Friday morning,I saw my mother, beside me, doze, open mouthed, her face ashen like that of a corpse and realized with pain that she was as old as she looked but soon put that thought away, and looked at Young Trees sprinting, the merry children spilling out of their homes, but after the airport’s security check, standing a few yards away, I looked again at her, wan, pale as a late winter’s moon and felt that old familiar ache, my childhood’s fear, but all I said was , see you soon, Amma, all I did was smile and smile and smile………………

Analysis on My mother at sixty-six

By Kyab

This poem revolves the theme of advancing age and the fear adhered to it of loss and separation. Apparently, the poet is on the way to airport in Cochin, when she is stuck by the realization of the advancing age of her mother. T he poet was encircled in the fear of losing her mother and it made her feel insecure. And she looked at her mother who had lost her blush of youth and middle age and now in her Twilight years, as she turn out to be as pale as the winter moon. And it’s very difficult for poet to accept that her mother is creeping into the grips of old age. Poet was beset with sorrow and insecurity, as she departs at the airport bidding goodbye to her aged mother and that’s why she trying to hide her fears by perpetual smiling as she looked at her mother. 24/8/10

2 Responses to “My mother at sixty-six”

  1. Abhishek Says:

    Good one… Thanks a lot..

  2. Very nice poem.

Leave a comment